Emergency Heart Day Dessert: Buttermilk Pound Cake Muffins

15 Feb

We almost had an emergency on our hands yesterday.

Atticus, Christopher, and I (along with about three-quarters of the population, apparently) have been battling this mystery cold and flu for a few weeks now. Although Atticus and I are still functioning normally, Christopher has had the hardest time. I know that it’s because he does too much for us. He washes dishes, does the laundry, takes the little guy to school, and indulges my every whim. Oh, my. I’m started to feel kind of guilty.

I felt even worse when I received a phone call from Christopher on Valentine’s Day informing me that he was in the emergency room, under doctor’s orders. Without going into too much detail, I am relieved to report that an appendectomy scare turned out to be unfounded.

Basically, my multi-tasking husband has been ordered to rest and recover.

And, so I tried to take care of him the best way I know– I cooked and I baked.

I had had Mixed Bean and Lentil Soup with Roasted Butternut Squash on my mind anyhow, but now I needed  to think of a quick, comforting dessert. Something fool-proof. I remembered the batch of Brown Sugar Hot Fudge that I had prepared earlier with my mother-in-law’s treasured family recipe, so I swung by the market to pick up vanilla ice cream (Haagen-Dazs has a great five-ingredient ice cream, aptly named Five) and organic flour for my favorite pound cake recipe (also courtesy of my mother-in-law).

Brown Sugar Hot Fudge!

Usually, I’ll bake this perfect pound cake in a bundt pan, but that takes nearly one hour, so I decided to try something different to speed up the process– individual Buttermilk Pound Cake muffins! I got the idea when I spotted a box of so-called tulip baking cups in red, pink, and white.

Buttermilk Pound Cake

"Daddy, tell me a story." Atticus is simultaneously enjoying a muffin at the table and a story from Chris.

Ingredients:

2 c sugar ( I use raw unrefined sugar with great results)
1 c butter, room temperature
3 eggs

3 c cake flour, sifted
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda

1 c buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp almond extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
Cream sugar, butter and eggs.
Slowly add flour mixture (with salt and soda), alternating with buttermilk about three (3) times, beginning and ending with flour.
Add flavor extracts.
Pour batter into muffin pan lined with tulip baking cups, almost to the top of the tin. The extra length on the baking cups should prevent spillage.
Bake at 350 degrees for 22-25 minutes. Do not allow to brown. Under-baked is best with this recipe!

Pound Cake Muffins in Tulip Cups

If you use the traditional bundt pan for this recipe, be sure to grease or butter the pan liberally, dust with flour, and bake for 45-50 minutes.

Use a flour sifter or sieve to 'dust.'

May your days be filled with friendship, peace, and enough food to keep you going. Happy eating!
~ Isela, Christopher, and Atticus

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Responses to “Emergency Heart Day Dessert: Buttermilk Pound Cake Muffins”

  1. Lucie February 15, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    This recipe sounds amazing! :) love the posts and the pictures. Very creative, healthy, and yummy recipes. I think what I like the most is that your recipes are organic, as much as possible, and they are always made with love. :)

    • Sugar and Sage February 16, 2012 at 9:45 am #

      Lucie, because you have been over for dinner, you know that almost everything is pesticide-free, even if I didn’t write it into the recipe. The last thing I want is to sound preachy! And, thank you for noticing that I make things with love. You must come over as soon as everyone is healthy.

  2. Jennifer McClure February 16, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    I’m so glad I had the opportunity to taste such deliciousness!

    • Sugar and Sage February 17, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

      I’m so glad you liked it. Seriously, this is better in bundt cake form, as long as you underbake it. Oh, Jen, I might go for it and bring a Mardi Gras bread to work next Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

