Brown Sugar Hot Fudge

26 Feb

Another winner from Christopher’s lovely mom.

“I got this recipe from Auntie Joan years and years ago. I had always used white sugar, but then I found out that Darlane used brown sugar in hers, so I switched.”

~Sharon Rager (neé Svendsen)

Thank goodness for Darlane, my mother-in-law’s best friend, and her brown sugar wisdom.

I’d choose brown sugar over the white, bleached stuff any day (just don’t tell my mother-in-law). I bake it into shortbread; I throw it into cake recipes for a super moist effect; and, now I will forever use brown sugar for this addicting hot fudge.  Only chocolate haters will shy away from this one.

I promised this recipe earlier, when I posted the Buttermilk Pound Cake recipe on Valentine’s Day; and, when I heard that I might have some University of La Verne visitors this weekend, I knew I had the perfect excuse to indulge.

Lucie, Phuong, and Walter are three of the most outstanding students I met while working at the University of La Verne. I was an international student advisor for just over a year at my alma mater, but I suppose the fact that these three wonderful people drove over bearing gifts of fizzies and food (Belgian beer and international food!) is telling of the some of the friendships forged.

These Vietnamese spring rolls came with a citrus-lemon grass sauce and a peanut sauce.

Lucie and Walter contributed Colombian empanadas from Sabor Latino Grill in Montclair, CA.

This could have been a perfect Academy Awards party– too bad our television doesn’t tune into ABC– yes, this is a true story, and, yes, this is as pathetic as it gets. But, at the very least, we were able to enjoy a satisfying lunch before my friends left to find a decent TV set.

Earlier, though, my little boy had been excited to help with the beloved hot fudge recipe from Grammy. So, while Chris grocery shopped, Atticus and I “slaved” over the stove.

Melt the unsweetened chocolate and butter over low heat.

Pour in the brown sugar-milk mixture. Keep on low heat.

Easy: Get a three-year old with a serious sweet tooth to help you stir, stir, stir. (The fudge is only warm at this point.)

Brown Sugar Hot Fudge

Ingredients:

2 squares Baker’s Unsweetened Chocolate
1/4 c Organic unsalted butter
1/2 c Evaporated milk
2 c Organic brown sugar
1/2 tsp Pure vanilla extract
pinch salt

In a mixing bowl, stir together sugar, milk, and salt. Set aside.

In medium a saucepan, over low heat, melt together chocolate squares and butter.

Slowly pour sugar mixture into saucepan. Simmer and stir constantly until fudge is no longer grainy.

Add vanilla.

Enjoy over your favorite ice cream.

Happy eating!

2 Responses to “Brown Sugar Hot Fudge”

  1. Lucie February 26, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

    It was a wonderful lunch. We enjoyed it so much! <3

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Emergency Heart Day Dessert: Buttermilk Pound Cake Muffins « Sugar and Sage - February 26, 2012

    […] I needed  to think of a quick, comforting dessert. Something fool-proof. I remembered the batch of Brown Sugar Hot Fudge that I had prepared earlier with my mother-in-law’s treasured family recipe, so I swung by […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

